$34,800 in Scholarships Awarded to DHS Graduates

Community of Delta Junction awards $ 34, 800 in scholarships to Delta High School Graduates

Sixteen Seniors took the time to fill out multiple scholarship applications for an opportunity to participate in the traditional local community scholarship interview night which took place on May 11th. This detailed process begins in April with essay writing, gathering letters of recommendations from teachers or community members, and trying to remember what all each student has done in the last four years including community volunteer activities, participation in clubs or sports, and honors and awards each one has received. Oh and did I mention, writing multiple essays addressing questions from each organization. There was a possibility for each student to be eligible for 17 different scholarship organizations. The scholarship recipients were announced at graduation on May 21st. Here is a recap:

Delta High School Boosters supports activities and its participants within the high school. This organization required an additional essay addressing the importance of involvement in school activities. The responses as well as recommendations were the most heavily weighed. The Booster club awarded Jonathan Kimble, Erica Wells, and Ruby Bynum scholarships in the amount of $500. The Booster club also awarded a $1,000 Kiwanis Scholarship to Mark Jackson.

The Buffalo Chapter of the Alaska State Employees Association awarded their recipients $500 because of their outstanding performance and exceptional achievements. The two scholarships went to Erica Wells and Mallory Wrigley.

The Delta Chapter of the Alaska Farm Bureau awarded a $2,000 scholarship to Donald Hannan. The Farm Bureau awards scholarship money to students who are pursuing agricultural related studies after high school. This is a very detailed scholarship and requires students to answer questions and write an essay related to the importance of agriculture now and in the future.

The Salcha-Delta Soil and Water Conservation District scholarship begins with a participation in an essay contest and then requires students to complete additional paperwork to become eligible for the full award. This year Mallory Wrigley and Ruby Bynum were each awarded $2, 500.

The Delta Greely Parent-Teacher-Student-Scholarship supports children and youth in the schools and in the community. They also assist parents in developing the skills they need to raise and protect their children. The PTSA encourages parent and public involvement in the public schools of this nation. This organization has been very involved in the high school and has used money from fundraisers and school vending machine sales to support scholarships for graduating seniors. This year the Delta Greely PTSA awarded Mark Jackson $1,000 and Mallory Wrigley $500. If you would like to be involved in this organization, look for advertisements in the fall when students are back to school.

Kaya Associates, Ft. Greely is the sponsor of two scholarships exclusively for Delta High School National Honor Society members. This year two scholarships in the amount of $1250.00 were awarded to Jonathan Kimble and Mark Jackson who best represented the qualities of an NHS member: scholarship, leadership, service and character.

The Delta Clearwater Moose Lodge #911 awarded Angelica Heintz a scholarship in the amount of $1,000. Two $500 scholarships went to Emily Kimball and Darrin Robertson. The Moose Lodge requires its eligible applicants to have a relative who is a member. Darrin Robertson also received the R. Robert Dale scholarship in the amount of $1,000. He was selected out of all Lodge’s within the Association (Alaska & Hawaii).

The Pioneers of Alaska Men’s Igloo #35 and Women’s Igloo #19 required the scholarship recipient to be related to a member of either Igloo and has maintained a GPA of 3.0. Danielle Bunselmeier received this scholarship in the amount of $1,000.

Delta Chamber of Commerce was looking for applicants who were interested in pursuing a business related field and planned on returning to Delta. Criteria was also based on community service activities. The Loretta Schooley Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Charlie Herman in the amount of $1,000. The Mabel Olmstead Memorial Scholarship was awarded to Mallory Wrigley in the amount of $1,000.

The Delta Clearwater Senior Citizens awarded two scholarships in the amount of $750. The recipients were Mallory Wrigley and Ruby Bynum.

Delta Concrete awarded Mark Jackson and Anna Byam scholarships in the amount of $1,000.

The Delta Greely Education Association awarded Anna Byam a scholarship in the amount of $1,000.

The Delta Greely Educational Support Personnel Association awarded Mallory Wrigley this year’s scholarship in the amount of $500.

Erica Wells and Hilary Fleming each received $1,000 from the Delta Lions Club.

Delta’s IGA Food Cache awarded Donald Hannan, Amanda Fisher, and Charlie Herman scholarships in the amount of $500. The Gary Frederick Memorial Scholarship awarded by the IGA was given to Erica Wells in the amount of $2,000.

Kathy Heral was a beloved local community member who had a passion for music. Upon her passing from cancer, a memorial fund was created in 1986 to help her passion live on. This year the memorial scholarship was awarded to Jung Tak in the amount of $1,000.

The Delta Skating Association awarded the Linda Sorensen Memorial Scholarship to Mark Jackson in the amount of $500.

Angie Heintz received the Women of the Moose scholarship in the amount of $500.

The Delta Sportsman’s Assocation awarded three scholarships in the amount of $500 to Ryan Dunham-Bender, Donald Hannan, and Amanda Fisher.

Josh Bialik received the Denali Lutheran Preschool scholarship in the amount of $300.

Best of luck to these students and the rest of the Class of 2010 as they begin to pursue their future plans!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>